Woke up with the body clock alarm at 6am, managed to get a couple of extra hours sleep. They say that it’s hard to sleep the night before; we’ll find out. After a lot of careful consideration a while back, I decided a long time ago to stay in a hotel near the Staten Island ferry I have to catch at 7am. I check and recheck the bag I am to be taking down to the southern tip of Manhattan. It has to have everything I need, and nothing I do not.

This morning I went to the immense Jacob Javits convention centre on 11th Ave, something like the Manhattan equivalent of Olympia. The marathon expo has two functions; to enable runners to pick up their race number, timing chip and a large sack of freebies; and secondly to push them through a vast temporary mall of running manufacturers stalls. I toy with the idea of a $75 commemorative shirt. Maybe afterwards. I then pin my number on and head to Columbus Circle, where my friend Jodi is waiting to take pictures of me for the UK charity. We even manage to get a yellow cab in the background. Wander up to the finish line at the bottom of Central Park, buzzing with runners, family, techs setting up the infrastructure. Excitement in the air. I jog back as recommended; a short run just to loosen up. Can’t do much else today, have to save energy. Am just going to go to a movie, eat, and then head for a very early night indeed. Tension has kind of gone though. Feeling good.

Thanks for reading. Hope the next post will be long and filled with awesome and exciting news.

 

